The Green Queen proposal

For two or more years I have been working on my book the Green Queen.

IMG_1235

Last year I started a book proposal with help from my mentor. She said go to the bookstores and see where you book would sit on the shelves. What a fun assignment to go around to different bookstores and picture my book for sale. It was the perfect time because it was just a couple of weeks before earth day. I looked at several bookstores in New York City itself. Almost all of them had a special display just for Earth Day. I thought the Green Queen would fit right in. IMG_1237IMG_1238

I’m still not exactly sure where it would go during the regular year. I think it would just be filed under my last name with the other picture books.

IMG_0994

The Green Queen is a story about a little girl like Albert in the movie Bogus who knows the difference between caring for the environment and has an internal compass that directs him to inform others of their decisions. He calls Whoopie Goldberg a “Polluter” when she offers him a styrofoam cup. I think kids get recylcing and caring for the planet easier then adults do.

GQSolarHouse

 

You can see other paintings for this project at www.jackiebeyer.com

What’s your favorite thing to do to care for the planet?

Leave a Reply

